UP : Jhansi Railway Station is now "Veerangna Laxmibai Railway Station" | Trendsfirst

Lucknow: The Uttar Pradesh government has renamed Jhansi Railway Station as 'Veerangana Laxmibai Railway Station' after Rani Laxmibai. This move comes after the central government approved the state government's proposal earlier this year.

The announcement was made by UP Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath on Wednesday in a tweet in Hindi.

"The Jhansi Railway station will now be known as 'Veerangana Laxmibai Railway Station'," he wrote


A notification to this effect has been issued by the UP government and the Railways has started preparations to implement the change, Chief PRO of North Central Railway, Prayagraj, Shivam Sharma, said.

The notification stated that the station's name was changed following a "no-objection" given by the Ministry of Home Affairs in a letter dated November 24, 2021.

Jhansi MP Anurag Sharma said that it is a matter of pride for the people of Bundelkhand. This will also give economic benefits to Bundelkhand as the possibilities of tourism will increase here.

Earlier the Mughalsarai Railway station was renamed as Pt. Deen Dayal Upadhyaya junction and the Faizabad Railway station as Ayodhya Cantt.

Since coming to power, Mr Adityanath government has changed names of several establishments including those of Faizabad and Allahabad districts, which were renamed as Ayodhya and Prayagraj, respectively.

While Allahabad has been renamed as Prayagraj, Sultanpur, Mirzapur, Aligarh, Firozabad and Mainpuri are also on the list for a name change. Meanwhile, proposals for changing the names of Ghazipur and Bastipur have also been put forth.

Credits - NDTV

Post a Comment

Previous Post Next Post