Rohit Sharma replaces Virat Kohli as India's ODI captain | Trendsfirst

09 December 2021

Rohit Sharma has been appointed as the ODI captain of Indian cricket team in a team selection meeting for South Africa tour on Wednesday. He replaces Virat Kohli, who will now lead India in only test cricket.

The move comes after questions were raised over India's inability to win any ICC tournament under former T20 and ODIs captain, Virat Kohli's captaincy.

India's apex cricketing body, Board of control for cricket in India (BCCI) confirmed this news with a twitter post on Wednesday evening.

This comes as a great opportunity for the swashbuckling opener Rohit Sharma who was recently appointed India's T20 captain after Virat Kohli resigned from the post after this year's T20 World Cup. 

Additionally Rohit Sharma has also been named the new Indian vice captain of test cricket, replacing consistently out of form Ajinkya Rahane.

Rohit's elevation to ODI captaincy officially brings an end to Kohli's five years tenure as white-ball captain. While kohli boasts of excellent figures with 4th best win - loss record across all the captains of the world, India failed to win an ICC tournament under his captaincy. 

They finished runners-up at the 2017 Champions Trophy and were losing semi-finalists at the 50-over World Cup in 2019. In Kohli's only T20 World Cup as captain, last month in the UAE, India crashed out after the group stage following back-to-back losses to Pakistan and New Zealand.

For All the Latest Updates Follow us on Google News AppTrendsfirst 

Post a Comment

Previous Post Next Post